Connect with us


Complete list of bank holidays across India in May 2020



Bank Holidays 2020

While we sit in the comfort of our home there are people who still go to work especially the bank employees despite the fact that the country is under lockdown and most of the services are shut in this fight against this lethal pandemic.

Banks will be shut for three days in May apart from the weekly Sundays and second and fourth Saturday (a total of 7+3 days). Important one’s around them are Eid and Budh Purnima.

Here’s a complete list of holidays when the banks will be shut in May 2020. The first list is for the national day-offs. The second list is of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The third one is of the state of West Bengal. The stock market will be closed on Maharashtra Day(1st May) and Eid(25th May).

National Bank Holidays in May 2020

  • 1 May 2020 Friday, May Day
  • 3 May 2020 Sunday Bank Weekly Off
  • 7 May 2020 Thursday Buddha Purnima
  • 9 May 2020 Saturday Second Saturday
  • 10 May 2020 Sunday Bank Weekly Off
  • 17 May 2020 Sunday Bank Weekly Off
  • 23 May 2020 Saturday Fourth Saturday
  • 24 May 2020 Sunday Bank Weekly Off
  • 25 May 2020 Monday Eid-ul-Fitr / Maharana Pratap Jayanti
  • 31 May 2020 Sunday Bank Weekly Off

Bank Holidays in Jammu and Kashmir in May

  • 21 May 2020 Thursday Shab-e-Qadr
  • 22 May 2020 Friday Jumat-ul-Wida

Bank Holidays in West Bengal in May

8 May 2020 Friday Birth Anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore

May Day – Maharashtra Day for the state – is an International Workers’ Day in memory of the labour movement.

The banks are currently functioning with reduced staff amid the ongoing nationwide lockdown to fight the spread of coronavirus. India has been under lockdown since March 25.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *