Watch: A misunderstanding and a race with teammate Nida Dar resulted in Kainat Imtiaz getting run out during the first women’s ODI against Australia.
Australia restricted Pakistan to 160-8 in 40 overs the first ODI, at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane, after Meg Lanning won the toss and put the tourists in. Captain Bismah Maroof made 28 from No.3, but Pakistan were in tatters at 113-5 when Alana King came to bowl the 31st over.
At this point, Dar was on 37 and Imtiaz on two. Dar was beaten by King’s first ball, and played the next ball to mid-wicket, without a run. She played the third ball to cover and set off for a single, presumably oblivious to Kainat’s refusal to run.
By the time Lanning, the fielder at cover, threw the ball to wicketkeeper Beth Mooney, both batters were at the non-striker’s end. Mooney whipped the bails off, and that was that.
While the whether of the dismissal was hardly debatable, it took television replays to determine the who. Both batters were by now aware of the mishap, and neither seemed to be in any real hurry to make it to the crease at the non-striker’s end. Dar, with her eyes on Lanning, somehow grounded her foot a fraction of a second before Imtiaz’s.
The umpires referred to Law 30.2.1 (“If only one batter is within a ground, it is his/her ground and will remain so even if he/she is later joined there by the other batter”) to rule Imtiaz run out.
Dar hit her way to 59, only to be out in the last over. For Australia, Darcie Brown took 2-21 and Jess Jonassen 2-23. Mooney played on to the stumps off Diana Baig during the chase, but debutant Phoebe Litchfield (23*) and Lanning (12*) took Australia to 37-1 in 11 overs by the time of writing.
Watch Kainat Imtiaz’s run out here:
When there’s a mix-up and both batters are next to each other … it’s important to get to the other end first 😅 pic.twitter.com/nbMQ8igYqx
— 7Cricket (@7Cricket) January 16, 2023